Share this:

By Toheeb Babalola

The management of the institution and the members of the NBC, Oyo State branch.

Not less than a week after the institution’s Committee on the actualization of PolyRadio visited the headquarters of the Nigerian Broadcasting Commission (NBC) in Abuja, the management of The Polytechnic, Ibadan, received the Oyo counterpart of the Commission.

A team of four personalities, led by the Zonal Director of the Commission (Oyo branch), Mr. Akpan Raphael, was welcomed into the institution  at the Rector’s office, on Tuesday, 16th May, 2023. 

The courtesy visit from the zonal office of the Commission was based on the official instructions from her headquarters to inspect the institution’s radio facility proposed by the management prior to licensing.

Speaking on the proposed Poly-Ray radio, the Zonal Director, Mr. Raphael Akpan, stated that the institution has attained a height worthy enough to be granted an institutional radio license. Adding that the young institutions across the federation have gotten theirs.

Akpan commended the management team for putting up a standard studio and up-to-date broadcasting equipment which are in line with the Commission requirements for the establishment of a broadcast station.

According to him, “I am convinced of the studio and everything inclusive. Our team of engineers will be invited by the management of the institution for proper inspection”

While addressing the Ascom Press, the Rector of the institution, Prof. Kazeem Adekunle Adebiyi, stated the institution is trying its best to create a mutual relationship with NBC and to get the poly radio licensed.

The dignitaries in attendance are:

Management team: The Rector, Prof. Kazeem Adebiyi; Registrar, Mrs Theresa Fawale; Bursar, Mr. Olawale Odetola, and the Public Relations Officer, Mr. Sholadoye Adewale.

NBC Team: Zonal Director, Mr. Akpan Raphael; Chief Monitoring Officer, Mrs Sherifat Muhammed and Assistant Monitoring Officer,Mr. Akinkunmi Akinwale

The committee on Poly radio includes Dr. A.A. Oladele (Chairman), Mr. Olusoji Olatunji (Secretary), Dr. Ayokunnu and Dr. Femi Ipadeola.

Share this: